Native Speakers aren’t better – so don’t believe it by Elly Setterfield

I am a passionate non- native English teacher. Teaching is a big part of my life. With that understanding, I am a lifelong scholar.
I am in a blended learning/ training and flipped classroom.
The traditional physical classroom settings for my lessons are not efficient enough.
In my view, technology gives us many new possibilities.
I prefer blended learning, which means, taking advantage of both, traditional f2f techniques and opportunities confronted by new technologies.
An occasion to meet and connect with people from the entire Globe is one of the reasons I appreciate online communication, very much.
Thank you, Elly, for the post.

TEFL Equity Advocates

[Note from the editor: this post was originally published on Elly’s blog here and is republished here with the full consent of the author]

When I started my blog The Best Ticher, I foolishly assumed that I was writing for an audience like my younger self: British (or perhaps American), relatively young (maybe one or two years out of university) who’d taken a TEFL course at least in part because it seemed like a good idea… and then who headed abroad to teach reluctant and terrified. I’ve realised however as my readership has grown that this is only a small part of my audience; there are lots of you out there who are non-native English speakers, working in your home country or trying to navigate the tricky world of visa applications  and not having ‘the right’ passport.

A couple of weeks ago, a teacher emailed me asking for advice (you…

View original post 1,893 more words

Leave a Reply

