About the Dark Matter, or themes at the Iatefl Conference

“Education is the ability to listen to almost anything without losing your temper or your self-confidence.”
Robert Frost

“I am not a teacher, but an awakener.”
Robert Frost

In one of my previous posts I was talking about thought-provoking questions which have challenged teachers in the history of language teaching:

  • What new can we do in our language instruction programs to stimulate more efficient learning?
  • What new methods, new visions, new ideas, new objectives or new twist could raise the level and value of learning of our students?

Introducing New Techniques and Approaches to Language Learning_

Improving teaching methods has been the main topic of educators’ discussions for centuries.

English learning in Our World

Post Method EFL: a theme for this year’s conference

IMG_1538

As the sessions pass by and I go through the day at Iatefl I notice certain themes tend to emerge  within the conference, or perhaps what people say  simply reflects ideas I have somewhere in my own mind that are brought to the surface. Whatever the case it is a strange process that I notice happening every year, as one speaker takes ideas from another and weaves them into the fabric of his or her own presentation. As each day progresses I feel ideas and thoughts taking root and blossoming in the back of my mind behind any really conscious thought process. Anyway, this is starting to sound rather too esoteric so let’s get our feet back on the ground.

Going Beyond Limitations

On Friday, as I mentioned in a previous blog post, we rounded off the PCE session with a…

View original post 855 more words

Leave a Reply

