You’ve Got a Friend by James Taylor

Originally written and recorded by Carole King in 1971, this song became the biggest, and most well-known hit for then 23-year-old James Taylor, and his only #1 in America. It was the first single off of his third album, which was actually the second album he released on Warner Brothers Records.
Taylor made some minor lyric changes at the risk of upsetting Carole King. However, the truth was revealed, when Carole first heard James’ version, while he was performing it live at the very same theater where he was introduced to the song 2 years earlier in 1969. The story goes that Taylor was scheduled to perform at the Troubadour Theater in Los Angeles, and while tuning up for his evening performance in the dressing room, he heard Carole King’s lovely voice, and the beautiful piano music of this song gently wafting from the stage through the dressing room doors. When they met backstage, James told Carole that he liked her song very much. In return, Carole suggested to James that he should record his own special version of her song. It was soon arranged, James went into the studio and recorded his version of the song, and consequently it was just as smooth as Carole King’s. The problem was, both versions were released around the same time in 1971, so there was major competition at radio stations. It was a tossup between whether they should play the original piano version by Carole King, or the softer guitar version by James Taylor. When Carole heard James’ version of the song, she finally put an end to the rumors about her being upset with the lyric changes by telling him, “James, I have no problem at all with your version of my song. Those lyric changes don’t bother me one bit.”
Taylor’s version of this song won the 1971 Grammy Award for Best Male Pop Vocal Performance, Song Of The Year, and Record Of The Year. (thanks, Annabelle – Eugene, OR, for all above)

When you’re down and troubled
And you need a helping hand
And nothing, nothing is going right
Close your eyes and think of me
And soon I will be there
To brighten up even your darkest night

You just call out my name
And you know wherever I am
I’ll come running to see you again
Winter, spring, summer or fall
All you have to do is call
And I’ll be there
You’ve got a friend

If the sky above you
Grows dark and full of clouds
And that old north wind begins to blow
Keep you head together
And call my name out loud
Soon you’ll hear me knocking at you door

You just call out my name
And you know wherever I am
I’ll come running to see you again
Winter, spring, summer or fall
All you have to do is call
And I’ll be there

Ain’t it good to know that you’ve got a friend
When people can be so cold
They’ll hurt you, and desert you
And take your soul if you let them

You just call out my name
And you know wherever I am
I’ll come running to see you again
Winter, spring, summer or fall
All you have to do is call
And I’ll be there
You’ve got a friend
You’ve got a friend

Ain’t it good to know you’ve got a friend
Ain’t it good to know you’ve got a friend
Writer/s: King, Carole
Publisher: Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC
Lyrics licensed and provided by LyricFind

http://www.songfacts.com/detail.php?lyrics=7040

Leave a Reply

