Teaching Foreign Language

How should we teach foreign language?

Active learning/teaching is the pedagogical approach which highlights motivating learners to be engaged in the classroom doings. It is frequently defined as taking part in activities involving them in lively performance and developing thinking tasks as analysis, synthesis, and assessment.
In my point of view, there are some noteworthy ways to involve students during a lecture such as short demonstrations, surveyed by class debate as well as the 20 -30 guided PPT lecture, followed by expounding, discussing and particularizing the material.
I am convinced that discussion is essential for a lecture, as an instrument to advance active learning skills and to motivate students toward further learning, or else to mature students’ thinking skills. 
The point I am making is that; instead of asking/ answering questions about active learning, I am going to talk about active teaching.
For me – teaching online is using technology in the classroom; as an additional method of conventional teaching.
I am for blended learning which means – taking advantage of both, traditional f2f techniques and possibilities given by new technologies.
Some say that: participants in online classes seem to be more involved and engaged in lesson activities than students in conventional classes.
In my opinion, we are able to activate our learners equally in both situations.
Getting decent communication in different educational settings requires altered teaching approaches.
This enables us to change them from passive learners to active students.
But how to help them learn actively and meaningfully, it is a separate issue.
Active learning involves providing opportunities for students to meaningfully talk and listen, write, read, and reflect on the content, ideas, issues, and concerns of an academic subject. (Meyers & Jones, 1993, p. 6)
Confucius’s aphorism should not be forgotten.
I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. (Page 75 Instruction at FSU Handbook 2011)
By doing and practicing, we build our long term memory library.
Short term recollection is formed mostly by memorizing, which is unfortunately assessed in majority of schools.
My experience tells that I ought to practice active learning principles to progress activities for my students that best mirror my particular communication style and the topics, forms of thinking, and strategies to the problems which are needed to understand and relate to the topics.
This is how I work on creating my “active learners”.
Looking for answers to the most common questions: what, when, where, who, why, why don’t, how etc. is always the starting point.
As a result of our discussion – we are able to put together part of incompetent content knowledgeable student with fully involved learner and self-motivated thinker.
References:
http://cet.usc.edu/resources/teaching_learning/docs/Active_Learning_Florida.pdfhttp://www.k12.wa.us/Reading/ReadingFirst/MaterialsHandouts2009-10/WARdg1stJuly09ActiveEngagement.pdfhttp://www.tutorselect.com/find/wake_forest_nc/gre/tutors

 

5 thoughts on “Teaching Foreign Language

  1. I agree! not only for teaching a foreign language, but also for teaching chemistry (my subject area), but by extension for teaching any skill set. In my classes I introduce a new concept, discuss it, show an example on the board, and then ask the students to work out several similar problems. They work in small teams, analyze and discuss the problem, how to attack it, and propose solutions. This is presented to the class, which then responds. This is active, collaborative learning.

    But my brain-based learning experiences validate the need for repetition to ‘lock” the learning into long-term memory, so next I create several similar problems online in my class Moodle site (structured so that each responder must first present their response before they get to see other responses… causing them to apply critical thinking, and then allowing them to see classmates responses.

    But that is not enough, so at the start of the next class, we will repeat the cycle one more time, and at the start of the lab, we will repeat the cycle a 4th time. By then it is starting to sink in. The last step is a Saturday review session prior to quizzes and tests, so that the students see the type of questions that will be asked (never multiple choice), and I can now offer one-on-one assistance for those who need it on any area of the material covered.

    Like

Leave a Reply

